Arena Rex Forums

Arena Rex Forums
It is currently Mon Sep 28, 2020 10:41 pm

All times are UTC-05:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2018 11:04 am 
Offline
Noxius

Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2018 12:33 pm
Posts: 2
I tried to post this before and waited about a month but it didn't go through I guess. Hopefully it goes through this time.

Had a situation happen in our first game that went like this:

I attacked Frigge, hitting her for a substantial amount plus a push, so I pushed her into range of a Living Hazard. After we tallied up the damage and marked it, she chose to use her Disengage ability and ended up moving (still in range of the Living Hazard). Does the Living Hazard see that she was pushed during the attack and still attack her even though she used her Disengage ability? We figured the timing worked like this:

1. Attack Frigge.
2. Apply Push effects (ended in LH range).
3. Tally and apply damage.
4. Frigge uses disengage in response to damage.
5. Living Hazard checks to see if Frigge was "pushed"
6. Living Hazard attacks since Frigge was pushed during the attack? OR Living Hazard doesn't attack because Frigge moved and that overrides the push.

The other option we could see if that the Living Hazard "interrupts" the attack and attacks Frigge before she can disengage or before we apply the damage (after she's pushed) but interrupting the attack like that just seems really clunky and would lead to a lot of other issues.

If anyone could help, would be sincerely appreciated.

Thank you!


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2018 5:47 am 
Offline
Viridis
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2016 4:38 am
Posts: 1484
Location: Scandinavian Denmark
It's a good question and I'm not actually sure exactly when the lazard is meant to trigger. I feel like I had an email from Walker saying that it is triggered by the push but doesn't actually attack until after resolution, but I cannot find it just now.

My own preference would be to trigger and resolve a lazard at the same time as other hazards, i.e. during the push resolution step. That would let the lazard attack way before Frigge gets a chance to disengage. But that's my own view and not any official ruling.

_________________
My Arena Rex painting log


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2018 8:44 am 
Offline
Viridis
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2016 4:38 am
Posts: 1484
Location: Scandinavian Denmark
Okay, I am already tired of writing lazard. LH it is. ^.^

_________________
My Arena Rex painting log


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2018 9:18 am 
Offline
Noxius

Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2018 12:33 pm
Posts: 2
Thanks for the answer! It is a really strange situation.

So, in your example, the timing would look something like:

1. Attack (roll dice, resolve, count'em up)
2. Perform hazards in the chosen tree.
3. Trigger LH in the case where it's pushed.
4. Apply original damage
?

That could work, but would throw me for a fit if the LH stole the kill from me even though I hit her first lol.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2018 12:29 pm 
Offline
Crudus

Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2018 9:01 pm
Posts: 138
The_Wretch wrote:
Thanks for the answer! It is a really strange situation.

So, in your example, the timing would look something like:

1. Attack (roll dice, resolve, count'em up)
2. Perform hazards in the chosen tree.
3. Trigger LH in the case where it's pushed.
4. Apply original damage
?

That could work, but would throw me for a fit if the LH stole the kill from me even though I hit her first lol.



This to me makes the most sense, it seems to be the most logical stack order.

Even the LH "Steals" the kill you still earn any favor to your pool the LH generates.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2018 4:19 pm 
Offline
Viridis
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2016 4:38 am
Posts: 1484
Location: Scandinavian Denmark
Yep, that's my thinking too. Because that's how it works if you push the enemy into a pit or a wounding hazard - the hazard would "steal" the kill from you then too. :mrgreen:

_________________
My Arena Rex painting log


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC-05:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited
Theme Created by HOLLYSMOKE
Theme updated to phpBB 3.1.3 by KamijouTouma