I don't think Power attack should be included in step 1.1, since the trigger for upgrading a standard attack is anytime prior to dice roll. Which means you still have the option to see how favor dice are applied, before you decide.
Really? That's not how I've understood it. I read it as you having to declare a power attack as an upgrade to a normal attack at the same time as you declare the normal attack, way before you get to adding favor.
Cost: Gain 1 additional fatigue level to upgrade an Attack action to a Power Attack.
Trigger: After you declare an Attack action, but before dice are rolled.
Effect: During this attack, the attacker may re-roll any unsuccessful dice once.
I grant you that it doesn't specify, so I might be wrong. But if I am wrong, then it seems weird to me that you can add favor to a Spite attack, but you cannot upgrade it to a power attack. It would make sense to me if you had to upgrade to a power attack during the declaration phase, since that would explain why Spite cannot do it, since it doesn't have a declaration phase.
And speaking of favor... I think there should be a sub-step added, after the target step, but prior to dice rolls, for declaring the number of favor dice. Especially since the rules state the attacker must declare how many they chose to add to the roll, before the defender.
For sure. All the steps in the chart consist of a number of sub-steps. In this presentation, favor dice declaration is part of the combat resolution, something like this:
1. Attacker declares number of Favor dice to add to the attack.
2. Defender declares number of Favor dice to add to the defense.
3. Attacker and defender simultaneously roll their attack and defense dice, respectively.
The Wild rule is interesting in that it's a normal attack, but it doesn't follow the targeting step, as you must attack the closest model. It also brings up an interesting point I hadn't realized before. The wild attack doesn't "declare", so you can't take a counterattack reaction against it.
(I don't play with or against many beasts, so this hasn't ever come up for me)
Yep, totally. It seems like you can only ever counterattack against a standard attack action and nothing else, since that is the only type of attack that has a "declaration of attack" step.