A large portion of my understanding of how "attacks" work comes from the Aegis of Fame ruling specifically. So, I do want ask, based on how you interpret the rules, do you you think Aegis of Fame should apply to a Counter Attack or Opportunity Attack? Why or why not?
I had a longer answer typed out, but it was just a rehash of what I said in the other thread. So to boil it down...
In this particular case of Aegis, my interpretation of the rules is that currently, RAW rules and given rulings contradict each other, so we have to look to what seems to be the intent behind the rules instead, and play it that way.
My understanding of the intent is as such:
- Aegis only triggers off declared attacks, not any other attacks.
- An opportunity attack is resolved as an attack 100%, and so is a succesful counterattack. Noting that the resolution of an attack and the declaration of an attack are two separate things, and the two reactions are not declarations of attack.
Make of that it what you will.
I suppose that means that I agree with your view in one aspect: I see the following as being completely different things.
- Declarations of attacks
- Declarations of opportunity attacks
- Declarations of counterattacks
These are completely separate. So if a special ability wanted to trigger off of the declaration of all of these, they would have to list all three. Like you have been saying.
The problem, really, is that lots of special rules refer to "when this model attacks" or "after an attack by this model" and so on. But an attack has two separate parts: The declaration, and the resolution. Just saying "when this model attacks" doesn't specify which part the ability is talking about.
But it becomes relevant because the two reactions aren't *declared* as attacks, but they are *resolved* as attacks. And therefore it becomes unclear whether those abilities work with them or not.
So Aegis should specify that it only works when an attack is declared. And Rebuff should specify that it only works when an attack is resolved.
I think that's my current take on it...
(Caveat: Counterattack is only resolved as an attack if it gets net successes. Otherwise it is resolved as a defense.)